A Song For Tunisia: The Free Knows No Fear

Nothing encompasses the spirit of what we can now safely call the Tunisian revolution, better than the Tunisian anthem itself. Written by the celebrated Tunisian poet Abi El Qacem E’chebbi, it is probably the most recognizable Arab anthem across the region. But if you’re looking for the perfect alternative then you have to listen to this young and talented Tunisian virtuoso, Amel Mathlouthi, who was already singing for the free in 2007, in La Bastille square, foretelling the revolution to come:

I am the free who knows no fear
I am the secrets that won’t disappear
I am the voice that does not bow
I’m in the midst of chaos
I’m the right of the oppressed
… My voice is free

5 thoughts on “A Song For Tunisia: The Free Knows No Fear

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention A Song For Tunisia: The Free Knows No Fear « the Mirror | المرآة -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: je m’immole je proteste je veux manger je veux travailler « Ritachemaly's Blog

  3. Pingback: A Song For Tunisia: The Free Knows No Fear « the Mirror | المرآة « Yahyasheikho786's Blog

  4. Pingback: La rivolta della Tunisia viene da lontano

Leave a comment